KTM RC 390 - 2015 vs 2016 - First Bike

wookiee

I'm new to motorcycles, and I'm planning to purchase an RC 390. I plan to do weekend riding and track days. I was disappointed to learn the USDM RC 390 isn't receiving the upgrades seen by other market, and also a little confused why there aren't 2016 RC390s at the US dealers yet.

What changed between 2015 and 201 USDM RC 390 models? When should I expect to see 2016 bikes in the US? I need to make a decision to wait for 2016 or move forward on a 2015 bike.

Last edited:

reenmachine

Country flag
From what I've read on here, it doesn't sound like there are going to be any changes for 2016 in the US -- no slipper clutch, no larger rotor, no side exhaust, no throttle by wire, etc.

No way to know for sure until they're here though.

Dealers may be discounting 2015 models to make room for 2016s, even when there are no changes, so there may be some deals out there.

Rexbo

Country flag
Not to discourage anything here... but if you're new to bikes save yourself some cash, buy a cheaper bike first (to wreck and learn from) and spend the money you saved on buying really nice gear (which you'll want eventually anyway if you want to ride track days).

Example: you can go find a newer ninja 250 now for dirt cheap (under $2k), while used 390s are still going for $5k ish. A nice set of leathers, boots, gloves and decent helmet will easily set you back $2k and you'll be better off with the good stuff. For the love of god don't buy Bilt or Sedici anything. Heck, you may even have budget left to buy nice street gear as well!

Then, when you're out-grown the beater bike, sell it off for close to what you bought it for and upgrade to something nicer. Bikes plummet in value quickly but then hit a bottom and sort of stay there.

wookiee

My favorite dealer has some 2015's for $4999 ...