Quick Test Ride

MrHix

Hi,

I got to test ride an RC390 the other day and wanted to provide some input. I put about 25 miles on it on a twisty road and some highway. I have been riding for 45 years and currently have a KTM 350 XCF-W and a 2009 FZ1.

The bike feels very small, mostly due to the thin tank area and low weight/center of gravity. It felt lighter than my KTM 350 due to the COG and was just about as thin in the knee area.

The brakes were almost dangerously soft and required a lot of force to get results.

The bike moved smoothly into turns and felt stable once there. Steering was light with good feedback.

Heat from the exhaust was excessive on the left side on my thigh.

I limited RPM to the recommended range so I can not give input on high RPM power. The midrange (6000 - 7000 RPM) felt a little softer than my 350.

Mirrors are great if you want to see your biceps. Cars, not so much.

For me: Bars were a little low for comfort on the road and might be hard to modify. I was looking at ROX ( 2" Pivoting Bar Risers for 7/8" Handlebar – Rox Speed FX ) Risers to see if they would help.

Minor point: Indicator lights were hard for me to see due to the lack of brightness and angle of the instrument pod.

Very nice bike, but I think it needs some fixes from KTM before I will consider buying one.

Cheers,

MrHix

A1VW2NV

Country flag