Want to add new tachometer, possible whole new LCD display?

Arahant

Country flag
Hey Guys,

I just got the rc 390 a couple days ago, I love it... one of things I don't like though is the tachometer on it... its so small and hard to see, and even if I can see the rpm's going up its hard for me to see the little numbers. I am new to riding so while more advanced riders might not care, and just go by ear... or just better be able to gauge it... I'd really like to be able to see the tach clearly, the numbers clearly.... and not have to look so closely when I'm riding because as a new rider I need to pay more attention to the road.

So yeah, I went looking to see what was out there for the RC 390... as any of you who are not new to this bike are probably not suprised, there is nothing specifically for the RC 390... to new I guess, maby there is other reasons to.

I however came across a couple sites that sold a multitude of different tachometers, both analog and digital, both just standalone tachs aswell as whole multi gauge assemblies sort of like what is already on the bike. They are all "universal", basically meaning I need to do my research to find out how well a universal aftermarket tach or full gauge set will hook up. I am not an expert but I assume that when it comes to gauges, especially modern bikes, that they are all mostly the same when it comes to how they are wired... they may have different routing, or different color schemes for which wire goes to what based on the manufacturer, but if you know what that is you can wire up a new gauge.... does this sound correct?