First weekend of racing on my rc390 cup

nino209

Well the experiment has begun, i have been racing my ZX10 for the past 3 years, with a decent degree of success.
during my amateur year I won the over all amateur, and the am super sport open championship.

When i decided to buy an RC390 i really had no idea what i was getting into, I have never been on anything smaller than a 600 in the track.
Well this past weekend at round 1 of the CVMA winter season, i learned.

I have to say it's the most fun i have had racing in a wile, this thing is tons of fun.
The bike still needs more set up, and i need to learn how to ride it properly, I'm still using 1k lines on some corners, i started running 2:20s a dismal pace compare to what I'm accustom to, 1:54s on the big bike.

I plan to have my rear shock re-valve for the next round, the front we got it working really good, i changed the oil to 7w and modified ninja 250 springs and it is working great.

After 2nd practice i started running 2:09s, on the Saturday races 350 super sport and ultralight weight shoot out, I ended up 13th and 14TH, my best time was a 2:11
The lead guys are running 2:00 to 2:04 , so i still a long way to be were i want to be.

i was running the alpha 13s on Saturday, on Sunday i put one of the 120 bridgestone slick of my 10 and right away i started running consistently on the 2:09 and left the alpha 13 in the rear.
I need to find a solution for the rear, i want to run a slick next time, i believe i will be able to drop into the 2:05 next round, my goal for the weekend was to get a top 10 finish, well i did that on Sunday i finished 10th on the shoot out and 8th in the 350 super sport race, the grids at CVMA are pretty big on average about 20 riders take to the track on this races.

The battles are incredible and compare to the big bike were everything happens so quick some of this drafting battles seem to last a whole lap and that makes it fun.