How to replace the back brake pedal on a 2015 KTM RC 390?

AidanS

Hi everyone,

I recently started riding and unfortunately had my bike slide at a slow speed. The incident was enough to bend the brake pedal, to the point that the pedal actually touches the bottom frame, not allowing any back brake to take place. I've been struggling to find information on how to replace the pedal, so any help would be much appreciated.

PS: I've read you can bend the pedal back into place with the use of a vice as a temporary fix? Is that any good?

Thanks to all

Aidan

green_bread

Country flag
You can try bending it, but it will probably break when you try to bend it back. To replace the pedal, it's 1 bolt, a couple springs, and a cotter pin if I remember correctly. If you look at the things that are hooked to it, should be pretty obvious

AidanS

You can try bending it, but it will probably break when you try to bend it back. To replace the pedal, it's 1 bolt, a couple springs, and a cotter pin if I remember correctly. If you look at the things that are hooked to it, should be pretty obvious

I got to removing the cotter pin and the spring. The issue for me is the bolt, do you I need an allen wrench? And you just remove it from the front portion or do you have to reach behind it?

Thanks for your patience, all of this is still pretty new to me

AidanS

No worries, man. We all start somewhere and this forum is here to help people out! :)

It should just be a bolt that goes through a couple of bearings and threads in to the rearset bracket. You will need an allen wrench to remove the bolt. I think its a 5 or 6, but I cant remember off the top of my head. This diagram should help you to see how things go together:

https://www.bikebandit.com/oem-parts/2015-ktm-rc-390-white-abs-b-d/o/m156775#sch896532

You legend, I’ll give it a try later today. Appreciate it

AidanS