R6 Master

mdabyo

Country flag
I have searched the forum and lots of poeple talk about upgrading the master but i dont see any results on how it all worked out?

what are people running? Anyone running an R6 master? It working well? not well?

I have read that the RCS15 is the ideal upgrade, but the the R6 should be a poor mans upgrade? :)

Any info would be great as i have one laying around and have been thinking about it but dont want to go through the effort if it wont pay off.

-J

bkruk

I did the Brembo upgrade and got rid of the ABS with the direct lines and Brembo pads.......man its like a totally different bike now. I feel like I am in complete control and it saved me this past august from what could have been really bad to just a broken collarbone and minimal damage to my bike....worth every penny

I have a Brembo radial master on one of my other bikes and it works well. However, they are really expensive to buy and so for my bike I went on Ebay and bought the FRANDO brand unit. it is significantly cheaper and very good quality. I see that they are being sold to racers in the UK too. Trust me you will be impressed with the quality. I even got them to sell me a spare lever. However, the radial master units do not have the 'feel' of the non-radial stock unit. The radial master takes the brake master from a four finger pull to a one finger squeeze brake. Great if you are an experienced rider but not for a new rider. Best investment in stopping is to get rid of the ABS and mount up better EBC or SBS brake pads.parillaguy

D

Deleted member 452

I'm running a 15mm Frando, Galfer 320mm front rotor & standard size rear rotor W/Brembo pads & Motul brake fluid. It stops immediately and the lever is rock hard (not mushy like stock).

mdabyo

Country flag
so back to my original question? anyone ever done a R6 master swap? its only a little bigger than the RCS15.

This table of corresponding size of master cylinder respect caliper size is NOT for radial brakes.