Hello from Dallas, TX!

Big_Muncho390

Hello Everyone!

I've been browsing the forums for a while now but decided it was finally time to join the community. I've been riding motorcycles for over 10 years (mostly MX) but wanted to get in to road racing. I picked up a KTM RC 390 in May 2016 and have done a few track days since. I plan to upgrade a few things first such as rear suspension, front fork cartridges, and brakes as they feel a bit squishy from the factory. The bike is a ton of fun and I feel like I'm getting faster and faster the more track time I get. Hopefully some upgrades will give me the confidence to start knocking seconds off my lap times. I live in Dallas, Texas where I was born and raised and I'm looking in to racing CMRA soon. Looking forward to meeting you all and getting some great info on the 390! I attached a few pics of me at my last track day at MSRC. Was running in level 1 the moved up to 2 later in the afternoon (when the tires were HOT)
rsz_img_12469.jpgrsz_img_12738.jpg

unicorn_violence

Welcome to the forum sir!! your on the right track with upgrading the suspension. that upgrade alone will shred massive amounts off your lap time. brakes are a good idea as well. ive raced the majority of the season on the stock brakes, but just upgraded them in time for the next race weekend. i did a new rotor, pads, fluid, and levers. im hoping that fixes it, but doing abs bypass lines might be the only way to completely remove the squishy feel. also, i suggest getting some perelli SC's as they stick like glue to the track!
if you haven't looked already, i have a race build thread you can check out for some more ideas on what to do to the bike.
http://www.rc390-forum.com/forum/ktm-rc-390-general-discussion-forum/1410-budget-race-build.html

Big_Muncho390