I put a 16/63r17 michelin pilot race tire on my rc390 today..

Trae327

Before I get blasted for running a 160 width on this bike, this is an amazing tire even if its not meant for the street. I mainly use my rc390 for fast mountain runs (I live in east TN, PLENTY of awesome places close by) and occasional trips to the city. I started to break in this tire today and man, It REALLY grips.. I had better luck with this tire than the rosso ii, which I only got 1500 miles on. Although it was a tad bit slower (hardly noticeable) I picked up almost 4 seconds on one of my favorite mountain roads near my house, and its only about 3 miles of non stop switchbacks and sweepers. there is a bit of "chicken strip" due to the width, I would almost have to be completely horizontal to get rid of them. Dont be scared to run this size if you have thought about it. Im not a tire expert, but I really feel planted and confident with these.whats your thoughts?

And before you say run a 140, I almost bought one today, but my local shop gave me this tire for $75 and im sure its worth more than that so i decided to atleast try it out for a while to give some feedback

AND yes, that bike is harder to put on a moto stand than you think :p

bike.jpg mane.jpg

Last edited:

Trae327

You're strips are less than mine on my stock 150s :D

lol I actually have about the same exact strips that I had on my 150s! couldnt get any lower than 2mm past the "rosso" logo.. its weird.. maybe I was just really confident in the placebo effect and was really riding it that much harder haha who knows.. ive just seen alot of negative thoughts about a 160 so i decided to try it for myself.

Hypoint

Same here. But I figure that everyone's comfort levels are different. You could just be a badass and not tell us lol. Good shit either way

Trae327

Same here. But I figure that everyone's comfort levels are different. You could just be a badass and not tell us lol. Good shit either way