The Chicken Strip Thread

reenmachine

Country flag
As funny as it sounds, I'm actually interested in seeing what your tire wear patterns are like. There's been some discussion about the shape of the 150 rear tire on this width of rim and whether running a 140 would open it up a bit and actually yield a larger contact patch and thus better performance.

These photos are of my OEM tires. Granted, I've only got about 400 miles on the bike so far and am just starting to push it a little in the corners, but it's a starting point for comparison over time. I'm just getting into the letters on the rear, so there's quite a strip. It's much more normal on the front, with a small strip and just tickling the edge here and there. On other bikes I've owned, a front strip like this went with zero or near-zero strip on the rear.

What do yours look like?

NOTE: This isn't about some ego-driven "no chicken strips" kind of thing. I'm just interested in finding the most effective tire size.

s9rJCYBh.jpg

1Wj5tl7h.jpg

guzz46

Here's what my wear pattern's look like, Dunlop Alpha-13's, I only did a few hundred kms on the stock Metzelers before I changed them, I've currently clocked up about 4000 kms on the Dunlops, I haven't ridden it for ages because its winter.
I have the 140 on the rear and It could just be my imagination, but I think it may have a more triangular profile that could possible have a larger contact patch when lent over? I don't know if there's anyway to know for sure.

Attachments

• IMG_20150622_144343.jpg
    IMG_20150622_144343.jpg
    912.9 KB · Views: 663
  • IMG_20150622_144358.jpg
    IMG_20150622_144358.jpg
    933.6 KB · Views: 537
  • IMG_20150622_144430.jpg
    IMG_20150622_144430.jpg
    944.1 KB · Views: 525
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1435005281.226344.jpgImageUploadedByTapatalk1435005297.859306.jpgImageUploadedByTapatalk1435005316.825000.jpg

Pirelli SuperCorsa SC2 rear 150. Pirelli SuperCorsa SC1 front 110